Hey! What the Heck is This?

I’m lucky in that I get to see new NUC accessories on a fairly regular basis.  Some are cool, some impress me, and some fall flat. Every once in a while though, something comes along that pushes the idea of what a NUC can be. It’s an add-on that makes the NUC into something more. This is one of those once times. GoRite recently sent me the Hey! lid from Hey!tech (the exclamation point is part of the name, not a typo). Hey!tech is a company that specializes in innovation for the classroom. What their lid adds to the NUC is unexpectedly cool.

heytech-nuc-led-display6

Take a look at the video below, and I think you’ll see what I mean:

And here’s a video of me installing and trying it for the first time (before I watched their video):

Pretty cool, huh? Installing it was a bit tricky, but once it was up and running, I got the concept immediately. It’s meant for classrooms and training, and I can see it being a big help for students and instructors alike. If you’re a shy student, not wanting to draw attention to yourself, this is a great way to get you participating in the class. And if you’re an instructor, this makes gauging the speed and progress of the class much easier.

I can’t really call this a review; beyond testing it to make sure it works, I wouldn’t be able to review the lid without setting up a classroom full of them and actually teaching a class. That’d be kind of fun, but I only have the one lid, and passing it around between the students would get a little tiresome.

If you’d like to learn more about Hey!tech, head over to their website. And as always, check out GoRite for some awesome NUC accessories.

One comment

Leave a Reply

