The Intel NUC: Getting WiFi working in Linux

I’m currently working on a project with the NUC5CPYH.  It uses the Intel AC 3165 WiFi card, and I found after installing Linux Mint that I didn’t have WiFi.  A bit of Googling led me to the two part solution, and I’d like to share it with you here.

To do this, you’ll need to be connected to the Internet on the NUC5CPYH. You can either use a USB WiFi adapter or a LAN connection.

Step 1: Download the firmware

  1. Head to this page on the Intel site: Linux* Support for Intel® Wi-Fi Adapters
  2. Find the link for the AC 3165 firmware and download the file
  3. Open the file and copy the files (ending with .ucode) to the /lib/firmware path of your Linux file system.

Step 2: Update the Kernel

  1. Head to this page and follow the instructions provided. A big shout out to Greg in Utah for providing the step-by-step instructions.

After following these steps, WiFi works as it should in Linux Mint.

 

 

 


Posted

in

,

by

Tags:

Comments

One response to “The Intel NUC: Getting WiFi working in Linux”

  1. Personal Cloud “On-the-Cheap”, part 2: Operating System – Techster's Blog Avatar

    […] got online. A bit of Googling let me to the instructions to get the AC 3165 card working, which I posted here. After that, the built-in WiFi worked just dandy, and I was able to run Update Manager to make sure […]

    Like

Leave a comment